Central African Nations Sign MoU on Regional Pipeline and Hub Infrastructure

The MoU, which was signed on 8 September by the seven countries, the African Petroleum Producers’ Organization (APPO), and the Central Africa Business Forum, will pave the way for feasibility studies, positioning Central Africa to boost energy supply within the region, reduce dependence on imports of refined products, and eradicate energy poverty by 2030.

Launched by H.E. Gabriel Mbaga Obiang Lima, Minister of Mines and Hydrocarbons for Equatorial Guinea, at this year’s MSGBC Oil, Gas & Power 2022 Conference in Dakar, the pipeline system is expected to measure 6,500km and link 11 countries by the end of the decade.

The system will comprise three multinational pipeline systems, the Central North Pipeline System, linking Cameroon, Central African Republic, and Chad; the Central West Pipeline System, linking Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo; and the Central Southern Pipeline System, linking Angola, the DRC, Rwanda, and Burundi.

Expressing his support for the project, Secretary General for APPO, H.E. Omar Farouk Ibrahim, stated, “It shall take energy from areas of abundance to areas of need within the Central African subregion.”

Share This Article

Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Other Reads

Onur Yilmaz

Onur Yilmaz

Subscribe below to stay in touch about the latest news and event updates